Eating bad food

Saturday

We went to a tomato festival today…

We had high hopes, thinking it was going to be a cute little festival…tasting over 100 types of tomatoes…but when we got there and got in, it was crowded, unorganized, and there was a LONG, slow-moving line to enter the barn where you could taste the tomatoes.

And did I mention it was hot as heck?!

Anyway, I could tell Kimm was disappointed pretty much immediately and so we didn’t get in the line to taste the tomatoes…

I was trying to salvage the event somehow…I thought maybe we could get some ice cream…but of course there was no flavor that appealed to Kimm (basically nothing peanut butter flavored) so that was a no-go.  So I suggested some “fries” which were really cut potatoes, grilled with onions….and they would have been REALLY good…IF they had been cooked through!  Parts of them were basically raw…which made them not so good.

Kimm ate a couple of bites, and then said, “you can have the rest.”

And of course I felt obligated to eat them because they had cost $5.  I didn’t want to waste the money.

I don’t know WHY I feel that I need to eat something that is not that great just because I spent money on it.

I’m WORTH MORE than that measly $5.

But I just couldn’t do it.  And I’m really mad at myself for that.

UGH.

Just one of those days where I didn’t like myself very much.

And I hate that too.

I just want to learn to love myself.

It’s going to be a life-long process I’m thinking.

Leave a Reply

